How to delete Gmail E-mails: Delete thousands of E-mail in Gmail

Clearing your Gmail inbox to release space can seem tricky but it doesn’t have to be so.

You can delete thousands of emails at a time from your Gmail inbox to release space

This is necessary if your Google Drive space is running out and you are not sure if you want to buy more space from Google, clearing thousands of unnecessary mails can save you the trouble.

Most of us have mails that have long served their purpose, there are even more emails in our inbox that we have left unread, occupying unnecessary disk space, this post teaches you how to delete them in their thousands.

Delete bulk mail in Gmail

How to Delete a mail

First, it might interest you to know how to delete a mail from Gmail, before learning how to delete them in their thousands, if you already know this, you can move on to the next sub-heading.

From your Computer:

Step 1. Open Gmail: go to https://mail.google.com and sign in to your account.

Step 2. select a mail: you can select a mail to delete by long-pressing it or ticking the box before it.

Step 3: from the drop-down menu, click on “Delete”

You can also locate the delete icon from the top bar that appears once you select a mail.

From your mobile App:

Step 1. Open the Gmail app.

Step 2. Select a conversation: Select a conversation by long-pressing it.

Step 3. Touch the Delete icon: The delete icon can be found in the option that is displayed at the top of the Gmail inbox once you select a conversation.

You can select multiple conversation to delete them in bulk by clicking them and clicking the delete icon.

Delete thousands of mail in Gmail

This process is only possible from a computer.

Step 1. Open Gmail: Go to https://mail.google.com to go to your inbox

Step 2. Select all mails: You can select all mail by clicking on the uppermost box in your Gmail App, this will select the latest 50 conversation.

To select all emails in the inbox, click on the link that follows.

This will select all emails in the inbox. The same procedures can be done for emails in other folder.

Step 3. Filter emails: If you don’t want to delete all emails in the inbox, you can filter them based on your preference.

To filter read mails; type the following in the search bar.

is:read

This will display all emails that have been read.

To filter unread emails; type the following command in the search bar:

is:unread

This will display all unread messages.

Selecting the upper box will equally select the first 50 conversations while clicking on the link suggesting to “select all conversation in the result” will select all conversation.

Step 4. Select the Delete icon: Having selected all conversations in the inbox, or all filtered conversations (if you filter the conversation, messages in the spam and starred folder will also be displayed) you can now select the delete icon to delete them.

You will be required to confirm your action.

Click “ok” to continue.

Step 5. Empty Trash: Deleted messages are sent to trash and will remain there for 30 days, to empty it immediately, go to trash from the menu. (You will need to click on ‘more’.)

You will notice information, informing you that trash will be empty after 30 days, click on the “empty trash now” link.

As you can see from the image below, I was able to delete over 2000 conversations in bulk.

I hope you find this information helpful, please leave a comment if you had any questions.

Leave a Reply

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments